Carsten’s Bakery

Standard

DSCN0771I like bakeries. I like to shop for clothes and knick knacks, but I am really very cheap, and I have moved enough times (and have helped other people move) to know that stuff is just stuff. I prefer to spend my money on tasty things that are difficult to make at home. Spending money on a nice pastry is always a good idea.

DSCN0759So, Carsten’s. Have you heard of it? I find that not many people know about this gem, and those that do have strong opinions about it. What inspires such strong opinions is the fact that Carsten’s is distinct. They don’t sell everything that Albertson’s does, and if you come late in the day, there’s a strong chance that your options will be limited. They also don’t make the same things every day. What this adds up to is Carsten’s is a real bakery, plain and simple.

I also like that Carsten’s is cheap. Cheap as in I bought a cream cheese brownie (55 cents) and a peach/cream cheese Danish ($1.50) and they charged me $2.00. Cheap and delicious, I might add. And if you come on a day when they have made their apple sauce doughnuts, call me. Yell at the top of your lungs so that I might hear. Apple sauce doughnuts are special.

Carsten’s is, as my father would say, “retro.” You can buy fruit pies, cream pies, rolls, and breads. Their specialties are:

Almond Ring- $10DSCN0765

Apple Ring- $10

Raspberry Ring- $10

Beehive Cake -$13

Pecan Pie -$13

Pan Cinnamon Rolls- $3.50

Around the holidays, they sell such novelties as plum pudding with rum sauce, Tom & Jerry Mix (What is this???), stuffing bread, fruit cake, mince pie, and Christmas Stollen, which I have heard very good things about.

Carsten’s is the boy in elementary school who was nice to everyone. He’s the boy who was always cute, but you never realized he was handsome until you met him ten years later. It’s time to appreciate Carsten’s, and to give it our patronage before large-scale grocery store bakeries close its doors.

The info:

243 Cliff StreetDSCN0762

Idaho Falls, Idaho 83402

208.529.3929

https://www.facebook.com/CarstensBakery

One thought on “Carsten’s Bakery

Leave a Reply

